

Minutes of the ISPB General Meeting, September 4, 2008

The meeting was chaired by Saleem A. Khan, Secretary of the Society. Approximately 60 members were present. The following matters were discussed:

Minutes of 2006 assembly were approved.

Society constitution: All attendees of ISPB conferences are members of the Society. Membership does not expire. Withdrawal from Society membership requires a communication by the retiring member to the Society Secretary. All members are requested to communicate changes in affiliation or E-mail address to the Society Secretary to keep membership database up to date.

Society finances: Society funds have been maintained in an account in the UK administered by the Society's officers elected in 2004, Secretary, Chris M. Thomas and Treasurer, Chris D. Thomas. The original intention of rotating the office of Treasurer every two years was discussed. Given the administrative and financial disadvantages of relocating the Society's account in accordance with the changing office of Treasurer, S. Khan proposed that this office be changed to unlimited tenure. The current signatories will maintain control over the Society account. This proposal was accepted by a unanimous vote.

Society dues: 25 USD from each registration fee for ISPB conferences are automatically allocated to the Society. Beginning in 2010, this fee will be changed to 20 GBP. The proposal was unanimously approved.

The Elsevier journal *Plasmid* will maintain its affiliation with the Society. Members are offered a special subscription rate of 92 USD.

S. Khan reported the recent increase in the journal's impact factor and summarized policy changes approved by the Editorial Board. The Board aims to decrease the number of weeks from time of submission to publication to increase satisfaction with the journal's performance and encourage higher numbers of submitted manuscripts. Abstracts for the 2008 conference will be published in *Plasmid*.

Society elections: Richard Novick was nominated for the 2008 to 2010 term of Society President. No opposing nominations were raised. Richard Novick was elected with unanimous approval. David Romero was nominated for the 2008 to 2010 office of Secretary. No opposing nominations were made. David Romero was elected unanimously. Chris D. Thomas was elected unanimously for the office of Treasurer with unlimited tenure.

Future meetings: 2010 organizers of the Plasmid Biology Conference will be Antonio Lagares and Mariano Pistorio. The proposed conference site is Bariloche, Argentina within the time frame of 1-15 Nov. 2010.

International Society for Plasmid Biology Plasmid Biology 2008 Gdansk, Poland; Sept. 4, 2008

The PB2012 conference will be held in Santander, Spain and the potential local organizer is Fernando de la Cruz. Potential locations for the 2014 conference are Toulouse, France and Australia.

The best posters of PB2008 were judged by a committee and each winner was recognized with a 100 USD prize and an ISPB Certificate. Recipients were: **Postdoctoral category**: Ana Maria Hernandez-Arriaga; **Graduate Student category**: Yurika Takahashi, Casey Hemmis, Meiyi Wu, Anne Kalliomaa Sanford, Jutta Vogelmann and Mildred Castellanos,

The 2008 Brian Wilkins Prize was awarded jointly to two equally qualified candidates: Masaki Shintani and Timothy Johnson. Each recipient will receive a monetary award of 750 USD.

The floor extended thanks to the following:

Kurt Nordstrom (outgoing President) Saleem Khan (outgoing Secretary) Ellen Zechner (outgoing Treasurer)

The meeting closed at 14:45.

Minuted by Christopher D. Thomas

Submitted by,

Saleem A. Khan Secretary, ISPB